Everyday3

Faith, hope, depression, Jesus, Love, grateful, Family, hope, appreciation

The Renewing of my Soul September 6, 2014

My soul is in a state of renewing. Constant reminders to train my eyes on Jesus. He is with me at all times yet I neglect to confer with him when I make decisions. How do I train my human mind to stop, think, consider all consequences and simply “rest” before jumping the gun and doing ANYTHING? It could be something simple like sending a text or something major like going back to school. When I accepted Jesus as my Lord and Savior, God sent the Holy Spirit to live inside me. With that gift of love from my Lord, I was given the assignment of listening to the promptings of the Holy Spirit. Why then do I elect to take actions that create negative consequences? This reminds me of something Paul wrote, Romans 7:15 “I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do I do not do, but what I hate I do.” When God created us, he gave us free will. He sings in heaven when we choose to do right. We grieve Him and the Holy Spirit when we disobey His Word and sin. These actions can be as seemingly mundane as making a negative remark about our boss to a coworker or as catastrophic as being dishonest to our spouce. Big or small, each is based on a single decision.

As God renews my soul, I am praying He shows me how to consult Him continually, to pray unceasingly. Do I put a rubber band around my wrist and snap myself each time I forget to ask for divine guidance? Or maybe I carry a tally and give myself a hash mark for every time I do pray before making decisions. Then reward myself when I pass a predetermined goal. The bible tells us God spoke to Elijah in a “still small voice.” He wanted Elijah to see him God in everyday things. He wanted Elijah to understand He was not just the God of storms, of earthquakes, or of fire (1Kings 19:11-13). So many times I hear His still small voice and I choose not to listen. The promptings of the Holy Spirit are subtle, still, small… The radio show may be provocative or emotionally charged yet I listen. The comment I want to make to my husband is sarcastic yet I choose to make the comment. I hear coworkers gossiping and I can walk away. But I add a negative remark. All are seeds the enemy plants throughout my day to keep me from listening to the Holy Spirit, God’s “still small voice.” Guess I better stop waiting for God to shout at me like I’m a misbehaving toddler. That’s not how my God works. He know I know right from wrong. He knows I am capable of making right choices. He knows my heart. And when I choose wrong it hurts my heart and it hurts God’s heart. I want to make God sing in heaven. I don’t want to grieve Him.

Thank you, Father, for having the Holy Spirit live inside me to guide me. He intervenes for me when I pray to you. He comforts me when I’m anxious or sad. As I go through this sanctification process, or the renewing of my soul, I pray you will be patient with me. You are a God of a million chances. You are tolerant and forgiving. You are loving and kind. You are the father I didn’t have on this earth to teach me right from wrong. You discipline when I misbehave. Sometimes it is gentle reminders. Other times you convict me with more stern reminders. You gave us your Word to guide us through this temptation filled, fallen world. The more I study your Word, the more I am amazed by its simplicity and complexity (Psalm 119:105). If I choose to live by your commandments I will live in the light and be happy and contented. If I live my life with overflowing gratitude more blessings will come my way. Thank You for being my Savior. To You be the glory. This is my Good-Night prayer.

 

 

Leave a Reply

