Diane's Everyday3

Faith, hope, depression, Jesus, Love, grateful, Family, hope, appreciation

Appreciation October 25, 2009

Filed under: Appreciation — Diane Turk Rogers @ 3:09 pm

The other day I was on my morning jog along the downtown San Diego marina.  It was a beautiful day.  Lots of people walking around.  I always feel so lucky because most of the people I see are visiting from other areas.  San Diego’s a big vacation destination for people around the country and around the world.  I hear lots of different accents and languages.

I began to see lots of young men and women running toward me with bright yellow t-shirts with a dark blue “NAVY” emblem across their chests.  They were cheerful as they passed me.  I began to think about where home might be for them.  If they’d been to Iraq or Afghanistan.  How old they were, etc.  As they passed, I raised my hand, smiled and hollered, “Thanks for your service to our country.”  Each time I thanked them I received smiles, thumbs up, and the like.

On my third “thank you” I suddenly began to cry.  Sadness snuck in with my extreme gratitude for them.  They were away from their families.  They had likely been to war or will be going.  I jogged and sobbed for another couple minutes.  My heart felt happy for having acknowledged these brave young men and women.  I hope I never pass up an opportunity to tell someone how much I appreciate them.

God bless us.

 

One Response to “Appreciation”

  1. Nancy Says:

    hey Sister! This one really touched my heart. I had a simular experiencea few days ago on my drive to work. Of course you know I live close to an airbase, well as I entered the freeway I came alongside a convoy of military trucks and jeeps. I also began to wonder about the men and women in them, what was thier ages…had they been in the battlefield…or would they be at some time during thier service tou our Country, on our behalf. I was although I couldn’t catch their attention or galnce to give them a salute of thanks, my heart was overwhelmed with gratitude for their sacrifice for our safety. I asked the Lord to keep them safe and bless them and as I remember them today I pray He will contine to shelter them as well as all of our service men and women with His awsome love.


Leave a Reply

